CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Hello all...my first questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-18-2013, 02:13 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2006 CLK350
Hello all...my first questions

First of all, HELLO ALL! My name is Terry and I recently bought a 2006 CLK 350 Cab which is my first MBZ. I am a pretty good home mechanic with full tools, air tools, compressor, floor jacks, scantools etc. I have been wrenching on my cars since I was 16, so that is...uh lets see...carry the 5...well lets just say it has been a long time.

I have some basic questions here and they are going to be newb MBZ questions:

First, how the heck to I get the engine cover/air filter housing open. I have a Chilton manual (kind of a waste but thought I should have something) and all it says is pull up on the housing. Mine doesn't budge.

2. What kind of shop manual do you recommend and where to buy it?

3. My car has 36K miles on it so its about time for the trans service @ 39K. I am pretty religious about trans services. I would like to do it myself but am not sure about the fluid lever checking procedure I have read about. I do have a laser thermometer which I gather is needed but I don't think I can get the car up in the air completely level to use it as indicated in a thread I read a few days ago. Do you guys do your own or have dealer or independent MBZ service center do it for you.

3. How do I get the car alarm to do an "audible" when I activate it from the fob?

4. I need another fob. Only got one when I bought it. Any suggestions on the least expensive dealer to get it from?

Thanks all. I look forward to spending a lot of time here.

Best
Terry
Old 01-18-2013, 03:10 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
CLS550 4Matic
Hey and welcome to the forum