CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

CLK55 AMG Weird Ticking noise - Please help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-11-2021, 04:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 CLK55 AMG
CLK55 AMG Weird Ticking noise - Please help

Hello - I have a (new to me) 2006 CLK55 AMG Cabriolet with a clicking/ticking noise I need some help diagnosing. I am an experienced mechanic with over 30 year of working on German cars, but this one has me stumped. I have searched the forums extensively and I haven't found anything that matches the noise / symptoms.

2006 CLK55 AMG Cab, 90k miles

The noise sounds like a very light "lifter noise" or possibly a fuel injector tick noise - very light and precise, only audible in the cabin with ventilation and radio off. - the engine sounds "normal" with the hood open and listening from outside the car. It becomes more noticeable after the car has warmed up.
-- It changes frequency with engine rpm, not driveshaft speed. (car coasting in neutral at 10 mph, rev engine up, it follows engine speed)
-- Most noticeable under load and in the lower gears - once cruising at 60 mph it seems to disappear, even under moderate load.
-- The noise will come and go when hitting bumps or road undulations, or change slightly if weaving left to right, - engine mounts / tranny mounts ?????
-- It is definitely NOT a lifter. No lifter noise coming from the engine using a mechanics stethoscope.

Something related to the engine / trans that when it moves slightly under load it is rubbing something ??

Overall the engine seems fine, pulls hard, doesn't smoke, etc. Seems healthy. Trans seems healthy, no issues with shifts, etc. I will check the parking brake cable to see if it is rubbing on the driveshaft, but I doubt that is it - this noise is so precise and mechanical. No engine codes. Seems to run fine.