CLS Coupe (C219) Discuss the CLS Coupe.

Upgrades?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-05-2011, 11:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
no mb
Upgrades?

Looking at the CLS, and it seems most cars come up with the short end of the stick as far as technology.

First, I think it uses alot of gas (pollution). Does anyone know of any CLS350's available in the US?

I've looked around and cannot find any actual description of the keyless go technology. Is it RFID? IOW is the car always bathing you in microwaves? Or is it something else?

Is it possible to add keyless go if the car didn't come with it? I suspect it's pre-wired, and I am an electrical engineer. What's involved; what parts are needed/where do they go, and is a software upgrade needed?

Is it possible to add bluetooth if the car didn't come with it? Same other questions as keyless go.

Same questions for radar cruise control, rear camera, and infrared night vision.

Only other thing I wish it had is AWD, but that is impractical.
Old 06-05-2011, 12:51 PM
Former Vendor of MBWorld

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
05 CL65 AMG, 07 Ferrari F430, 03 Range Rover HSE
Never heard of a 350 in the US, but possible. However, a 3.5 liter may actually work harder than a 5 liter and actually use more gas. The car is fairly heavy. You can certainly drive a 500 and use less gas than a 350.
Keyless go can be added but a HUGE and COSTLY endeavor. Several antenna and computer in the car to make it work.
Bluetooth can be added to any non-equipped MB via the iTronic BT system on our site.
We add night vision and rear camera all the time... Easy.
Radar cruise can be done, but also not easy. However easier than keyless go.

Last edited by Cartronics; 06-06-2011 at 09:12 AM.
Old 06-06-2011, 08:54 AM

no mb
Anyone have any specifics on my questions?
Old 06-06-2011, 09:13 AM
Former Vendor of MBWorld