Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Choosing an air compressor.......

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 09-18-2002 | 09:05 PM

Choosing an air compressor.......

I would like to know what types of air compressors you guy use in your garage. Is small better than big? I have a 2 car garage and space is a problem for me. I've already looked at Home Depot, Lowes and Sears. The 3-5 gallon compressors seem ideal but are the bigger(15 gallon) the way to go? My primary purpose would be to air up the tires, blow off water, dust(on the car), sportbike, etc.....

Or is it a waste of $$? I'm no mechanic so I don't pretend I will open a "Tire Kingdom" in my garage!

Also, thinking about a ceiling extention cord roll up but concerned about the cord bumping my show car...........

Ideas and comments are welcomed and pics of garages if you have one!

Thanks in a advance
Old 09-19-2002 | 08:12 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2008 VW GTI
My needs were exactly the same as yours in addition to the occasional need for an air tool now and then. I also have space constraints. In a 1 car condo garage I fit 2 cars (yes 2), a 17' kayak, 2 mountian bikes, 3 work benches, a roll-away, firewood, water heater, trash cans, etc. No room for a big compressor. I ended up getting the Craftsman "pancake" style compressor. The red one, not the "professional" black and gold one. It's small enough to fit under the bench or throw in the trunk or just carry someplace else. Due to it's small tank size the motor has run often to keep the tank filled but, I only use it a few times so it's not a big deal.

The Craftsman compressors have a number rating system. Look for the sticker on the motor. It tells you which number is suitable for which type of tools.

Last edited by avlis; 09-19-2002 at 08:14 AM.
Old 09-19-2002 | 11:05 AM

Thumbs up