Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Researching buffers please help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-07-2012, 06:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
slk 280
Researching buffers please help

I have been researching buffers all day and I am more confused then ever as to what to buy. I am a total beginner and never tried buffing a car before so any help on would be appreciated. I want to remove light swirl marks out of the paint of a white Mercedes SLK. I want something that is going to be easy and safe to use for a total newbie.

These are the buffers I have been looking at:
Porter Cable 7424XP
Griot's Garage 6" Random Orbital
Meguiars Dual Action 6 Inch Polisher G110v2
Flex Tool XC 3401 VRG Orbital Polisher

Also any recommendations on polishes?
Adam's Polishes
Menzerna Polishes
Meguiar's Polishes
Griot's Machine Polish
Old 04-08-2012, 07:35 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
'84 380 SL/ '02 XK8
For a neophye detailer I would recommend the Groit's machine polisher and Optimum Hyper Polish a spray-able polish; by spraying the polish onto a buffing pad, you can effectively prime the entire pad with a minimal amount of product. Therefore you are using the entire pad to polish the paint and achieve better results in less time than a conventional polish.

"Detailing 101; Introduction to Detailing" - http://www.autopia.org/forum/guide-d...ml#post1451986

Last edited by TOGWT; 04-08-2012 at 07:39 AM.
Old 05-06-2012, 09:58 PM

none
If you have never used a machine buffer before, I would try it out on the inside of the trunk or the doors.
That way you can get a little practice before you apply it to the body of the car.
Machine buffers and polish are best used by professionals who have a understanding of the combined abrasive abilities of both.
White paint can be very tricky to polish because like black it shows virtually every flaw.