Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Which Pads, Polish, and Wax to use with PC7424XP?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-23-2012, 01:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 C350
Which Pads, Polish, and Wax to use with PC7424XP?

Hey guys,
I am not new to detailing my vehicles, I have just always done it by hand...I just ordered a Porter Cable 7424XP and have been researching what "kit" to buy. It seems like everyone has different opinions on this subject, so my questions to you guys is, what buffing pads do you guys recommend? What polish and wax works best that doesn't cost an arm and a leg?

It seems alot of people like the Lake County Pads, but they have like 7 or 8 to choose from. Then others say McGuiar's Pads which only has 2 or 3 pads. I'm a beginner with using a polisher, so I would prefer to keep it simple and just use 2 or 3 pads, but if you guys think I need more then I'll have to deal with it lol.

Thanks,
Ryan
Old 11-27-2012, 09:58 PM

Toyota Taco
Originally Posted by ranorris2
Hey guys,
I am not new to detailing my vehicles, I have just always done it by hand...I just ordered a Porter Cable 7424XP and have been researching what "kit" to buy. It seems like everyone has different opinions on this subject, so my questions to you guys is, what buffing pads do you guys recommend? What polish and wax works best that doesn't cost an arm and a leg?

It seems alot of people like the Lake County Pads, but they have like 7 or 8 to choose from. Then others say McGuiar's Pads which only has 2 or 3 pads. I'm a beginner with using a polisher, so I would prefer to keep it simple and just use 2 or 3 pads, but if you guys think I need more then I'll have to deal with it lol.

Thanks,
Ryan
with a PC you want to stick with 5 or 5.5 inch pads, preferably with a low profile. The machine is more likely to bog down and not spin with larger pads (6in+) or thicker pads