Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OM642 Gl350 Bluetec High oil consumption diagnosis and solution

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-27-2021, 09:13 PM

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
OM642 Gl350 Bluetec High oil consumption diagnosis and solution

Hi all, I don't post much but thought this would be some good info for those with high oil consumption issues.
It's long so if you want to see the solution just scroll to the bottom.

The back story:

We picked up our GL350 a couple years back with about 90k on the clock. I have no idea what the service history was before we purchased it. I knew when I purchased it there was a slight oil leak from the valley weep hole indicating cooler seals starting to leak. I am a mechanic and machinist and so that oil leak did not scare me at all, having done my research and knowing what it takes to fix the problem. The leak did not get bad enough to do the cooler seals until about 105k miles. So I did the seals, replaced the oil cooler while in there and some other miscellaneous while were here type stuff. All was good until about 110k where a random out of the blue engine light and limp mode happened. This turned out to be a DPF code for regen frequency and a clogged DPF. So I pulled the DPF off and cleaned it out. All seemed good for a couple months until a routine dipstick check showed oil off the bottom of the range, so not thinking much of it I put the 2 quarts in it that it takes to be back up to full, and proceeded to check it a couple weeks later only to find it low again... so the search began to find where the oil was going. This went on for about 5k miles until I started to get serious about solving the oil consumption issue.