Diesel Forum Forum for Diesel engine vehicle related discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I am lost... Help Injectors? common raip pump?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-15-2023, 04:35 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2007 E320 W211 Bluetec
I am lost... Help Injectors? common raip pump?

I am new to common rail. I know VW TDI ALH engines and PD but not these fancy electronic piezo injectors.

My 2007 E320 OM642 kept getting harder and harder to start. I changed the fuel filter and found some water in it and the codes also showed water in fuel. Changing the filter didn't really change much.
I still had problems with the car not wanting to start. This went on for about 6 months. "keep in mind" I don't use this car much. I am shocked if I put more than 3000 miles on it a year. Maybe 1000. It is not uncommon for the car to sit a month in between starting. I have a European hitch on it and use it more like a pickup than a car.

It has sat for about a year now and won't start at all. It will stumble a little and smoke but not run. I checked the fuel filter again and there was water again.! I had only put maybe 500 miles since the last fuel filter. I was an idiot. I should of not just changed the filter but purged the entire fuel system. I rebuild injectors for VW ALH engines. Two-stage pop.. so I decided to tear these down. The insides of the injector bodies looked ok. No rust. There was no rust on any of the fittings or connections to the common rail. I didn't see signs of water damage at all. However, the nozzle's spray patterns were awful. Using a can of carb cleaner to see the pattern half would not spray at all, Two out of one hole, and one out of three holes. I did an ultrasonic clean-up and tested again and I had a nice clean pattern on all nozzles. I could not pop-test these. I use a mechanical hand pump to pop VW injectors. That would not work on these. so the extent of my testing was the nozzle and carb cleaner.