E-Class Coupe (C207) & Cabrio (A207) 2010-: E250CDI Coupe, E350 Coupe, E350CDI Coupe, E500 Coupe, E550 Coupe [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Opinions on Appearance Package

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-22-2011, 01:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2014 GL 450
Opinions on Appearance Package

Hello Everybody -

I'm new to the E forum but I've been around on the GL forum since purchasing my 2007 GL 450 in April of 2007. I love my GL but I don't need that large of a vehicle anymore and I've always loved the look of the E Coupe, so I'm in talks with a local dealership about purchasing one.

One of the options I'm not sure about is the Appearance Package. A friend of mine has 2 E Sedans -- a 1999 without the Appearance Package and a 2002 with the low profile tires and sport handling of the appearance package. She loves her '99 and hates the '02. She feels the '99 handles & rides better. I'm not sure if the sport package makes that much of a difference or if it's really more of a difference between the model years.

Sorry for the long question/introduction but was wondering if anybody had opinions, positive or negative, about the appearance package.

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-22-2011, 02:11 AM

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
I have the Appearance Package (18" wheels) on my E350 Coupe, and I had the 17" wheels on my last C350 Sport Sedan, both are on the somewhat similar chassis.

Personally, I like the Appearance Package, especially on a coupe -- not too soft at the corner, not too firm on the freeway. Unless our daily commute involves a lot of city potholes or poor pavement, I would highly recommend it.

Even just the Multicontour front seats are worth the package, they provide a lot of fine adjustments (triple lumbar support, shoulder support, adjustable side bolsters) to suit our body, extra nice if we have bad backs.

The 18" 5-spokes AMG wheels look great as well, and they are very easy to clean.

Regards,

Last edited by axhoaxho; 12-22-2011 at 05:38 PM.