E-Class Coupe (C238) & Cabrio (A238) 2017 - E200, E220, E300, E350, E400, E450 [Coupes &Cabriolets]

How do I turn the car on and off please help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-19-2021, 03:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E300 Coupe
How do I turn the car on and off please help

Hi guys, I've been driving a 30 year old car for the last 20 years.
I am picking up a 2018 E300 Coupe when it gets delivered to me in a few days and I have some questions as I haven't driven a newish car in forever.
All the reviews online go through all the advanced stuff but none of them address the very simple things that someone who hasn't driven a newish car wouldnt know.

1. How do I turn the car on. Is it as simple as putting my foot on the brake and pressing the turn on button? Is it one press of the button or two? Does that turn to ignition 1 or turn the whole engine on?

2. I understand the changing from D to N to R is behind the steering wheel. Do you have to be pressing the break to be able to use it?

3. How do you get the car into park and how do you turn the car off completely?
I assume you push in the button to go to park. Do you have to be pressing the brake when it goes into P.
Where is the handbrake?
How do you turn the car off completely. When can you push the off button? Does your leg have to be on the brake.

So sorry for these stupid questions, I just have absolutely no one who can help me and I am so embarrassed to ask the dealer
Old 09-19-2021, 08:14 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 2,847 Likes on 2,425 Posts
PFL205.064 with M276.823 (Oil pump solenoid defeated)
1. Depress the brake pedal and press ignition button once, if you don't depress the brake pedal, car turns on accessory mode.