E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Rear Brake Calipers - Newbie

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-06-2005, 08:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Brake Calipers - Newbie

New to the group, just bought a 92 300E with 133K. The Tech drove it and said the problem was in the rear and suggested I drive it a few days to see if it would get any better (I should have known better). They agreed to replace the rotors at a later date if the problem persisted. I showed up for the appointment the owner drove around the block at warp 1 slaming on the brakes and proclaimed he belonged to the Society of Automotive Engineering
and there wasn't anything wrong with the brakes and I was not an agressive enough driver and blew me off. Hmm, I'm a retired cop and truck driver with current CDL, but maybe I just haven't abused the vehicles enough!!! Oh well, not a big deal, buyer beware in the Smyrna, GA area....

I would like to do the work myself, so I need a source for the rotors and pads. Never worked on anything German, are there any complications or special tools needed? It looked like a pretty straight forward job to me.

Love the Benz, should have bought one years ago... This board is great!
Thanks,
truk4u
Old 07-06-2005, 08:43 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2016 AMG C63s
Originally Posted by truk4u
New to the group, just bought a 92 300E with 133K. The Tech drove it and said the problem was in the rear and suggested I drive it a few days to see if it would get any better (I should have known better). They agreed to replace the rotors at a later date if the problem persisted. I showed up for the appointment the owner drove around the block at warp 1 slaming on the brakes and proclaimed he belonged to the Society of Automotive Engineering