E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

New 91' 300E owner

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-27-2007, 10:47 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1991 300E
New 91' 300E owner

hey everyone, ive posted a little bit here but never had an introduction thread. I got a black 91 300E when i graduated high school a few years back but it was a nightmare to get running. basically i finally got it up and running last year and been loving it ever since. had to change out the alternator, master cylinder, and adjust the idle, these are just some of the stuff i had to do to get it running, cant remember what else went wrong. (got the car from an auction).

(OK, this might be a little long... i apologise in advance)

Now, i have some stuff im thinking about fixing for looks, and some things i need to check out for performance.

Exterior:

I changed the headlights to silverstars, gave me a lot more visibility on the road, made me very happy. I now want to change it out to euro style headlights since i want to replace the headlight casing anyway (old, yellowed, and cracked) Also, the wipers dont work or i dont know how to use them.. (if they're supposed to work when i use my windshield wipers, then the headlight wipers dont work) thinking about just taking them out.

When i bought the car there were several chips of paint that came off somehow... how much do you guys think it'll cost to touch-up these spots? theres around 10 or so spots, largest being about an inch in diameter.

My taillight is cracked, someone backed into my car in the parking lot and didnt bother to leave their info... i wanted to change the taillights to a different style, not sure how, i like the stock ridges, but i dont like the amber color, maybe some that are just plain red and white that ive seen on the road.

Interior:

Some of the wood around the shifter is cracked, want to replace that.