E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Super newbie with ac questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-30-2007, 10:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Super newbie with ac questions

First, let me just say I know nothing about Mercedes. I've never owned one and I'm trying to help out my in-laws.

My mother-in-law owns an 89 MB 300ce which she is in the process of trying to sell. But before she can the AC needs to be fixed. Her mechanic has informed her that the AC compressor has gone bad, so she's purchased a used compressor and asked me to help install it. I've done lots of work on the BMWs, Hondas and Subarus which I've owned in the past so I'm not a complete novice at repairs but I've never tackled anything in the AC department.

Any tips on how to replace this correctly? Besides the compressor, what else is she going to need? The drier? hoses? expansion valves? Like I said, my knowledge of the AC system is fairly limited so any and all advice is welcome.

If there is a more appropriate forum for this please direct me there or if there is another site that my offer more info that would be great as well.

Thanks in advance.

Evan
Old 07-30-2007, 10:18 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

1995 E320 SE, 162,000 Miles (Sold)
Welcome!

If you can install an AC compressor in your garage with no help, I wasted my money for my HVAC degree. It's definitely not DIY if you don't know refrigeration, and working with the refrigerant is illegal if you don't have an EPA license.

But...