E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

rear shock accumulators 95 e320 wagon

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-27-2007, 01:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
e320 wagon
rear shock accumulators 95 e320 wagon

I am wondering if any one here has ever replaced the accumulators on the rear suspension of an e320 wagon?

I found the parts online for $99 each. I understand the hydrolic fluid needs replacing? I have no idea how that is done?

Are there critical issues that must be paid special attention to in doing this task?

The garage wanted 6 hours labor and $300 each for the parts. I'm presumming this job is not terribly difficult, any advice would be most appreciated.

Thank you,

P
Old 08-27-2007, 08:24 PM

Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
'01 C240, ‘98 S320, '97 740IL, ‘06 X5, '87 GTI
Do it yourself and save!
If your at all handy, it's easy. I'm no certified mechanic, but I did it in way less than 6 hours, coffee to beer. Only parts are the two accumulators and hydraulic fluid.

Get some brake line wrenches and penetrating fluid (soak the lines to be removed the night before). That and a pair of ramps (great....but not required) and basic hand tools is all you need.
A I remember, relieve system pressure via the bleed valve, loosen the hydraulic line going into each accumulator, then lift the carpeted metal cover from the interior and remove the three retaining nuts that secure the accumulators and replace. Once all is bolted back in, top off the resevoir, fire up the engine and bleed the system via the bleed valve.

Steve
Columbia, SC
Old 08-28-2007, 12:46 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

89 300TE, and 68 280sel
It is DIY but make sure not to round off the fittings because they tend to get seized so use some good penetrating oil like PB blaster.