E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Bilstein B8 sprint shocks. which springs?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-19-2008, 04:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W124, W164
Bilstein B8 sprint shocks. which springs?

hello ppl. very much a newbie here. ive been searching the forums and it seems the most recomended lowering set-ups are bilstein sports (?B6) and H&R/vogtland springs.

wondering if anyone have come across or used the B8 sprint shocks and which springs do u use?

looking at the bilstein website recommended spring height are between 30-40mm. H&R has 2 types of springs: 30mm(HR29-555) drop or 45-55mm(HR29-548) drop. Vogtland springs a massive 30-60mm drop from their website.

will it be okay to run these shocks with the lower H&R springs (HR29-548)?

btw my car is a 230E (not very common in europe or the states it seems). ive got amg styling II 18x8 fronts and 18x9 rear. all these not installed yet. just need to make sure set-up is okay before i do them.
Old 06-21-2008, 02:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
300CE 24V Sportline 1991
Bilstein B8s with springs from Bilstein

Hello,

If you haven't bought the B8s, buy them as part of a B12 kit specially selected brom Bilstein's lists for your car.

If you've already bought the B8s, try to exchange them for the right B12 kit. Either that or consult Bilstein so you can get their recommended springs to form the B12 kit for your car.

Basically, the B12 kit works.

Some say the B12 contains H&R springs, some say Eibach. Still others say Ventura.

I say who cares. They work and are tuned to your application but be sure you know how many "points" your car has, front and rear, so you can select the correct B12 for your car.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

RayH
Old 06-22-2008, 11:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W124, W164