E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

1991 300 e stalling when engine warm

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-28-2012, 09:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1991 300e
1991 300 e stalling when engine warm

So it's driven great up until recently, when it began stalling upon acceleration either out of a turn, or from a stop, after driving 10 minuites or so. At this time is chokes, sputters, and stalls when attempting to accelerate. Then may start rough and stall out once more almost immediately, or simply will not start at all. Allow an hour or so to go by, it fires up just fine, and so far....seems to not stall again for awhile.

Where does my diagnosis start? I'm new to MB (and all these relays and sensors I keep reading about), but it seems like a fuel delivery issue. Pump, relay, filter, ovp? Please help me figure this one out as i'm especially hurting these days! Thanks
Old 11-29-2012, 08:51 AM

1990 300 te
Check the fuel pressure. There is quite likely an extra port on the CIS you can put a gauge on.
Old 11-29-2012, 11:11 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
2014 E350, 2006 C350 Sport(made it to 280k, loved it!), 1990 300E
It might be a fuel accumulator or clogged fuel injectors. Try Techron in a few tank fulls to see if this clears it up.
Old 11-29-2012, 01:16 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
300CE 24V Sportline 1991
Originally Posted by phoenix244
Allow an hour or so to go by, it fires up just fine, and so far....seems to not stall again for awhile.

Where does my diagnosis start? I'm new to MB (and all these relays and sensors I keep reading about), but it seems like a fuel delivery issue. Pump, relay, filter, ovp? Please help me figure this one out as i'm especially hurting these days! Thanks
Think of the cheap things first and, with symptoms like that, ignition.

Make sure your HT is first class. All components original MB or Bosch/Beru failing that. In my experience, NOTHING ELSE.