E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

MB 300 TE-24 - Need Help! - At the end of the line

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-28-2013, 09:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes Benz 300 TE-24 W124
MB 300 TE-24 - Need Help! - At the end of the line

Dear all,

I am new to this fantastic forum. I have been a w124 fan for many years and have had a quite a few of them in different versions. I have been reading diverse articles and threads on here for the past 3 months and I am impressed with the knowledge of its members. It so happens that I have now a very well maintained and relatively low mileage 300TE-24 1990 model. 208.000 km. on the clock. I absolutely love this car but it is driving me to the brink of nervous breakdown. For the whole summer I have been working on a few issues related to accelerator hesitation, fluttering and sputtering with almost no luck.

But here goes,

Description of problems:

1. Sometimes the car runs and drives absolutely fine. There has always been an issue with starting and full throttle though. When I floor it and push the kick down switch it takes off like an airplane but at some point during the acceleration (not always at the same point and not always the same intensity) the car hesitates badly until I release the gas pedal a little (again different how much from time to time). It sounds and feels like it is choking when this happens.

2. The idle has been steady at 700 rpm most of the time but after full throttle driving (I take care of my w124s so alot of full throttle is not something my cars are used to) the idle jumps up to around 1500 rpms and then fluctuates from around 1000 to 1500 rpms. It does not come back down to 700. But if I turn the car off and on again everything is fine.