E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

1994 E320 Wagon engine wiring harness

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-19-2002, 06:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1994 E320 Wagon
Question 1994 E320 Wagon engine wiring harness

Hi, all.

I am new to MBworld, new to Mercedes-Benz ownership.

I have just purchased my first M-B product, a used 1994 E320 Wagon in really clean shape.

It was traded in at the VW-BMW dealership where I work.

I love the car, and recently took it in to European Motorsports here in Kansas City to have a checkup.

Here is what they found, and I would like input from those of you in the know on the E320s, on what I should have done, how critical things are, etc. I am trying to maintain the car without spending my life savings, so I am trying to sort out what NEEDS to be done soon and what can wait.

1. I am told that a lot of the engine wiring harness insulation is brittle, and is pulling away at various connection points, creating a hazard. I have been quoted around $5-600 for the harness plus labor. I looked at a bunch of the connectors in the bay and I see what they are talking about. You can see small amounts of exposed copper at certain wire junctures. Is this some thing I can McGyver ( i.e. careful electrical taping of exposed areas myself) or is this critical that I have repaired?

2. Numerous minor oil leaks found. Front transmission seal leaks, lower section power steering gear leaks, both sides of differential output leak. Rear main hyropneumatic suspension valve wet. Quoted real high labor times, probably legit, to fix these various leaks. How critical are these?

3. Needs 4 rotors and brake pads ( 15% pad left).

Sorry for the long post. I would appreciate any feedback you folks may have, who have owned higher mileage ( mine at 121k) 300 series cars.

Thanks for the intellgent input.

Matt
Old 03-19-2002, 07:39 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
93 300E