E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

NOOB Alert!!! Couple questions and a hello

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-11-2004, 12:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 300E, 1989 BMW M3
NOOB Alert!!! Couple questions and a hello

Group,

Im a newbie to this forum, but am a frequent poster on DTMPOWER.NET and Bimmerforums.com

I am a BMW guy who wanted a tank for a daily driver. The car is overall a good car. I have the 3.2 litre motor and about 110K on the car.

The car has a full MB Service record from the PO, and I kept it up with the smaller services while farming the 90K service as side work to my friend who is a Tech at a large MB dealer.

So the car needs ball joints, or lower control arms? Are the ball joints pressed in where they can be replaced or is it just cheaper to replace the whole arm?

The tranny hesitates for several seconds going into reverse, then will catch and jerk the car.

All forward gears shift fine, firm but not overly so (Read a few threads about the adjustments, is that the same for reverse?)

Is there a way to get rid of this hesitation into reverse?

I plan on selling this car within a year. But I need to fix it before the sale.

I need a front bumper in this blue, I cracked the lower air dam part on some ice, anyone have one kicking around for sale in this color so I do not have to worry about paint?
Old 02-11-2004, 11:10 PM

99 C43 AMG & 2008 Corvette 1LT Z51 LS3
What's up Matt!

I'm surprised that no one has replied to this post yet. You may want to drag this post over to the Tech area, you'll probably get some responces over there.