E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

New into the w124 !!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-15-2019, 03:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990 Mercedes-Benz 300E 2.6
New into the w124 !!

Hello, first day for me in here and I’m so glad I got to join benzworld , I just bought my first w124 1990 300E and I got a deal on her but I was wondering what’s the common problems with these cars and what to check mainly .. also I’ve been having a problem with idling and driving like when I floor it it doesn’t wanna go like my 04 cobalt does at least lol I know no comparison but I’m new to this and I would love some tips .. thank you so much everybody !
Old 09-16-2019, 04:53 AM

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
04 E500, 00 SL500, 99 SL500, 94 E420, 92 500E, 92 500E, 92 300CE, 06 Lexus GX470
Originally Posted by Amouneeb93
Hello, first day for me in here and I’m so glad I got to join benzworld , I just bought my first w124 1990 300E and I got a deal on her but I was wondering what’s the common problems with these cars and what to check mainly .. also I’ve been having a problem with idling and driving like when I floor it it doesn’t wanna go like my 04 cobalt does at least lol I know no comparison but I’m new to this and I would love some tips .. thank you so much everybody !
Welcome and good luck with your new project. But your 1st mistake is asking after the fact, on anything about these nice old cars.
Seriously getting a deal can be just an allusion at first glance, and you may really have a money pit upon close inspection, I hope not.
Here is a common cliquish among Mercedes owners, "There is nothing more expensive that a cheap Mercedes"
I'm not a diesel guy, so others will have to jump in here, but they are generally slow, unless you have a year with a turbo, (not a 90 I think).
Even with a turbo, they are still relatively slow.