E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

210 E Roof GPS antenna cover, real deal replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-20-2012, 12:34 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2000 e320
210 E Roof GPS antenna cover, real deal replacement

I couldn't locate orginal thread, but my roof antenna (GPS/Phone) cover broke off. I want to give the straight scoop. I'm a MB tech at a dealer. From Ebay I ordered a cover & seal kit from ebay seller AM-Autoparts. $24.95 free shipping. Do a Ebay search "Mercedes GPS antenna" & you'll see many sellers @ various prices. AutohausAZ also sells them. None are genuine MB so far as I can tell. (Genuine only supplied from dealer with plastic base, which is very costly & unneeded). It is most important you get the correct cover. DO NOT get the tapered cover as sold on ebay that is glued on with silicon or the like. It has part #2028270031. It is too fat & made for a hat shelf mouted type antenna. These wrong ones go for $5-15.
The correct replacment cover will be exactly like the original. Straight with 4 shallow grooves & a deep grove where it hooks into cover, with a small bell shape at bottom, & it also always comes with the base housing seal.
Here's what my experiance was: Part was made in Taiwan. Rubber seemed slightly different from genuine part, but no matter quality seemed fine.