E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

Leaky Transfer Case 99 E320.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-02-2013, 06:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E320 Wagon
Leaky Transfer Case 99 E320.

Soooo - just picked up a 99 E320 Wagon for my soon-to-return to the States Sister and Brother in Law. Car has 104K miles - all in all - pretty good shape. BUT - I have what appears to be a leak/seepage from the transfer case. I'm not worried about the aesthetics of my driveway here - I'm more worried about handing over a car that is going to crap itself and die two weeks after they return.

So I got the following questions (and I am a complete MB novice): one - does the transfer case share ATF with the rest of the transmission, or are they independent systems? Two - how hard a job is it to refill the case, if it's independent? I ask that question because - in my Brother In Laws Words: this thing only really needs to last a couple years....after that, it's likely going to be my Niece's first car when she hits 16. So nursing it along is totally an option - if it isn't going to require a degree in mechanical engineering to do so.

Thanks in advance for any insight!
Old 07-02-2013, 08:25 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,040 Likes on 964 Posts
1999 E300TD
The concern to me would be the leak quantity. The transfer case uses the same transmission fluid, about .85l to be exact. Therefore you have to get a transmission fluid level tool to determine the existing transmission fluid level and by doing so learn how to do that.

If not, and depending on the leak quantity you will eventualy run out of transmission fluid.