E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

E300TD question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-25-2004, 01:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question E300TD question

Newbie here,
Am considering buying a 98 or 99 E300TD, which are hard enough to find as it is. To make matters worse, the NADA value is in the low 20s, but listings from MB dealers and Autotrader are in the mid to upper 20s. What gives?
Old 06-26-2004, 01:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Late Built 2005 W-211 E-320 CDI
W-210 E-300 Pricing?

They are priced high because people ask and do get those prices!

There were less than 6,600 total units brought into N A for MYs '98 and '99.

Currently in the L A subs. there is a '99 Starmark advertised for $32,995. Its the only one listed in the Times!

I paid $29K for my Starmark Certified '99 last August.

Now if you want an E-320 gasser, they're all over the place for much much less. But who would? Certainly, not any of us?
Old 06-28-2004, 02:46 PM

So it appears that NADA does not take into account production numbers or desireability?
Old 06-28-2004, 04:37 PM

W-210 E-300 Pricing

I suppose so.

What does NADA list the vehicle for?

Starmark listed cars are much higher for several reasons.

Because they are being floored by Stealerships and are warrantied up to 100K miles.

And they are usually very clean with low mileage. MBZs cannot be certified unless they have less than 100K miles. Get up on the Starmark certified listings and view some of the high prices that are being asked. The one that is advertised in the L A Times (SilverStar MBZ in Westlake CA) is price $2K higher on the website than in the newspaper. $33K is high, but $35K on the Starmark web listings! That car has 61K miles and sounds really nice, but at over $30K, Not for me! Mine is nice, but I paid $28 last August but it had more mileage at 81K miles.
Old 06-28-2004, 05:07 PM