E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

2002 RWD E430 Sedan Bilstein Suspension Kit?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-23-2020, 12:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 E430 RWD
2002 RWD E430 Sedan Bilstein Suspension Kit?

Hello everyone, newbie here to the forums. I drive an '02 E430, and am very satisfied with how smooth and comfortably yet quickly it handles. That being said however, I want to change a few things about it, namely the suspension. Bumps and turns in freeways and streets are way too bouncy and I'm starting to get body roll from the old suspension parts, and after seeing some pics of lowered W210 sedans, I think the look is really badass, even with the stock 17" alloy wheels. Thus, I want to give the car a sportier suspension and was thinking of slapping a Bilstein kit onto it to lower it just a bit and also give me a firmer ride. After lurking the forums for several weeks and doing some research online, the best option for me seems to be this suspension kit consisting of four shocks and springs from Bilstein, model number 46-190444 (Pro-Kit B12). I found it on LMPerformance (wasn't able to find on FCPEuro) for about $660, which doesn't seem too bad a deal. My mechanic's a close friend and will install them dirt cheap for me. So, this seems to be the most cost-effective and "legit" method of improving the ride in the way that I would prefer. My current shocks and springs seem to doing fine, though even if I don't upgrade to this kit I reckon they're gonna have to be changed soon (the car's at 134K miles but running like a champ). I also tried looking into coilovers but had a real hard time even finding a set available, must not be much of an option for these older Benz models.