Considering Bilstein Shocks-'05 E320 CD: 2 Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-02-2008, 04:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'05 E320 CDI, '07 VW Touareg V10 TDI, 2007 Porsche GT3
Considering Bilstein Shocks-'05 E320 CD: 2 Questions

Hi all.

My '05 E320 CDI is too floaty on undulating back roads, and clearly needs more damping than M-B endowed it with.

I've had great luck in the past ('98 4Runner) replacing OE shocks with Bilsteins - Hugely improved valving, modest increase in ride firmness.

Two questions:

(1) Which to buy: The "Heavy Duty" shocks. or the standards? (This car will never see a racetrack; Will the Standards be enough?)

(2) How much of an installation job am I looking at (DIY)? I'm a fairly accomplished hack mechanic with a good assortment of tools.

Please, if you don't have personal experience with Bilsteins, withhold replies.

Thanks.
Old 01-03-2008, 04:18 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
2015 GLK 250 BT
Ditto, on the soft boaty feel on the W211 CDI. Bummer that MB thinks that CDI owner don't want a sporty feel. My prior car was a Z3 so my 2005 CDI definitely needed a firmer setup. I've installed Bilstein PSS9 coilovers from GMP. Motivated that this setup would exceed the AMG setup. Interesting to note, Bilstein tech shared abit about the 1-9 settings relative to stock, comfort and sport setups. PSS9 at the softest setting #9, is 5-10% firmer than stock which is the same as Bilstien Comfort shocks. Bilstein Sport shocks are equivalent to the middle setting #5. And of course, having the ability to adjust/lower height is definitely an additional value.