E-Class (W211) 2003-2009
View Poll Results: 18" will sacrifice ride quality
Yes, 17"s will be more comfortable.
35.00%
You're crazy, 18's look better and ride just as well cause Mercedes picked them.
65.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

2009 - Downsizing to smaller wheels

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-23-2011, 12:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 Audi A4 2.0T Quattro 6-speed
2009 - Downsizing to smaller wheels

Hey guys,

I am new to the benz world and have been lurking around a bit to learn more about the Eclasses.

I am looking to purchase the E for ride quality, but I've narrowed down my search to 09's in order to get the newer infotainment and navigation system.

95% of them show up with the 18" sport 5 spoke rims - and I'm wondering if smaller wheels will fit (looking for ride comfort, not handling).

Honestly, I like the stock 16's and 17's that are on the E class of that generation. I know 16's probably won't fit because I've read that the bluetecs come with 16 and they had to have smaller brakes because of that, but will 17's just work without affecting the speedometer or brake clearance? I know enough to be dangerous but I'm not aware of anything with offsets and widths and such.

I'm looking at wheels here http://www.finishlinewheels.com/MERC...TYPE+211/2009/ but I see that they have all different widths and diameters.

Anyone have any advice they could offer?

Thanks much in advance,

- frank
Old 09-23-2011, 01:48 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts
Another round of ICE