Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-29-2013, 04:10 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
2014 BMW M235i
Near-Perfect Paint

Hey everyone!

As I've posted in a few other threads before, I've become more interested in the art of detailing cars and learning to handle my paint in a way that will keep in excellent condition for years to come. I am a very amateur car owner and novice detailer but I want to share some of my trial and error findings over the past few months in getting my car looking showroom quality again. I don't claim to be an expert on this and I am sure many of you (including Pinebarron - this guy is insanely good at getting his black W211 looking flawless) know what I am about to state but if it can help somebody then that's a good thing. My paint is not perfect but miles better than what it was so here is what I have to say on the topic!

After a comment by OliverK about the finish on my car after a long winter, I decided to get the car machine polished at a detailing center, and I was very happy with the results - until I washed the car a few times thereafter. Despite my thread regarding how great I thought the paint correction was on the car, I found out that they did little to CORRECT any damage (swirl marks, scratches, scuffing, etc) but all they did was take the edge off existing marks and fill in the rest. Obviously, they didn't use any compound and most of the marks returned once I washed the car.

Two weeks ago I decided to use some techniques I learned from AMMO NYC and without having the resources to compound and polish the car with a variable speed buffing wheel I did the following that achieved pretty brilliant results:
  • Full wash with detergent to emulsify existing wax
  • Clay bar followed by a rinse & proper drying
  • Acrylic Polymer Sealant
  • Carnuba Wax on top of the sealant
  • Finishing Spray & Wax hardener