E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

To buy or not to buy

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-13-2014, 12:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 E500 Wagon
To buy or not to buy

I have been lurking here for a few months trying to get a feel about the E500 ownership experience.

I have owned multiple Honda / Acura products and have never had any major issues.

I am a wagon owner at heart and have fallen for a 2004 E500, I have to have the V8, but the more I read the more doubt creeps in.

I am a mechanic and can do all the maintenance / repairs myself but I'm still nervous about the long term with these cars.

Did I sell my 2009 TSX to soon?

Thanks for your advice comments in advance.
Old 05-13-2014, 01:32 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
2014 BMW M235i
Why is doubt creeping in? I have the E550 with the M273 engine and oh my god is this thing a rocketship, I'm really surprised at the cars I can beat even at elevation. I drive my car REALLY hard and redline it on a daily basis and I've never had any issues with the engine or drivetrain at almost 130k *knock on wood*. The W211 has other issues that are common failures, AirMatic will be the most prominent one, but like any car with struts that need to be replaced it should be understood that AirMatic does fail.

Also, it helps if you have STAR Diagnostics or DAS Xentry if you're working on these cars, even higher level OBDII scanners don't always provide as much information. I love love love the W211 and I'm definitely getting a similar-year CLS63 soon which is very mechanically similar. Expensive to maintain? Yeah, kinda - it's all relative. Worth every penny? Absolutely. I would also bet that because the V8 has less strain compared to the V6 put on it in daily, tame driving situations that it would last longer since it doesn't have to work as hard to, say, merge on the highway. I think you made a good choice, but I would recommend either a facelift (2007+) or 05 or 06, less issues than 03 or 04.