E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

Looking for critique of my draft letter to MBUSA (long)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2004, 10:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 E500
Looking for critique of my draft letter to MBUSA (long)

I hesitate to post this as it is rather long but I need some help, especially on what to ask for a follow up. I have no experience dealing with car problems at this level. Any suggestions appreciated.

January 19, 2004

Paul Halata
President and CEO
Mercedes-Benz of North America, Inc.
1 Mercedes Drive
Montvale, NJ 07645

Dear Mr. Halata,

Re: Mercedes Benz 2003 E500 VIN: WDBUF70J53A349234

Last August I wrote you a letter praising the purchase experience of my car from Autohaus on Edens (“AOE”). Unfortunately, this letter is much different. I am now writing to let you know why I wished I never purchased the car. It is without a doubt a beautiful car - pewter/ash with a wood wheel - and attracts much attention. People have been surprised, and a bit disappointed, to learn that I cannot recommend the new E series specifically because of poor quality and Mercedes in general due to several bad service experiences. Instead, I have been recommending the Lexus LS 430 for those willing to sacrifice some performance for better quality and the Jaguar S Type-R for those who want better performance than the E500 and who are also willing to accept problems going in, albeit probably fewer than I have experienced with this car.