E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

HELP Airmatic - passenger rear height is lower then driver side

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-08-2016, 06:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
e500
HELP Airmatic - passenger rear height is lower then driver side

Hi guys! This is my first time posting here - long time consumer of the great information you all post.

Here is my question. I have a 2004 e500 4matic with 132k mi - the passenger rear airmatic is lower than the driver side. To be exact, the wheel well is even with the top of the wheel tread in terms of height. The drivers side is about double that height. My question is - why is this happening? There isn't any sign of a bad bag (at least that I can tell).

It should also be noted I may have a parasitic drain on the battery because the batteries are brand spankin new! For a week after putting in the new main and auxiliary batteries everything was fine but I eventually got the message stating the comfort features are temp unavailable (same message I was getting before with the old batteries). The battery was old so I figured that must have been why - not holding a charge well). As it turns out, the new battery didn't fix the problem with the drain.

You're probably asking yourself what the heck do these two things have to do with one another?! When I replaced the battery I noticed the rear suspension was about level on both sides (passenger rear was where it should be). Now, I have this problem with the battery and it seems the suspension is lower on the passenger rear side.

Does anyone know if there is a correlation here? If so, why?

Sorry this is a little all over the place but I'm short on time but I need your help!

Thank you!!
Old 01-09-2016, 08:39 AM

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
2004 Mercedes E500, 2008 Mercedes ML350
If you have the original audio system, and no aftermarket stuff wired directly to the battery, I wouldn't worry too much about it being a parasitic drain.