Print Wikipost

W212 Lowering Springs DIY Guide with Photos

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-12-2013, 01:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 E350
Lightbulb W212 Lowering Springs DIY Install Guide with Photos

MBWorld has a good wealth of information for a newbie MB owner like myself but I couldn't find any DIY info for installing lowering springs for my w212 E350. So here's my attempt to give back to the community!

I recently purchased some H&R sport lowering springs and took the time to take photos and take notes along the way so that I can share my experience with others.

DISCLAIMER: This guide is for informational purposes only. It is only meant to educate you on the steps I went through to install H&R springs in my car. I am not a mechanic and I am not responsible for how you use this information. You understand that there are risks involved when modifying your suspension. This includes the risk of injury and/or death to yourself and to others during and after installation. Additional risks can include property damage to your vehicle, other personal property, and the property of others. Furthermore, you may be voiding your Mercedes-Benz warranty. It is strongly advised you have a professional mechanic perform any suspension work to your vehicle. If you are still foolish enough to attempt to do your own installation, please make safety (for you and for others around you) your #1 priority and remember, you are doing this at YOUR OWN RISK.

I'm going to break this guide down into three sections. Section 1 will contain the tools I used. Section 2 will cover the installation of the rear springs. And then Section 3 will cover the installation of the front springs.

SECTION 1 - Tools Used
These are the tools I used during installation.

1. Air compressor

2. Pneumatic impact wrench

3. Jack & Jackstands

4. 1/2" & 3/8" socket wrenches, metric sockets, and extensions (sockets used: 13mm, 16mm, 17mm, 18mm, 21mm)