E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

suspension suggestions after 2 years

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-12-2017, 03:09 PM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
2020 GLC 300, 2019 GLC 300, 2014 e400 Hybrid
suspension suggestions after 2 years

2 years after this car - I can't tell you how much I dislike how this car handles. Probably it's because the prior 3 cars were all BMWs.
I am not a professional driver nor do I track my car. I just drive to work and shuttle to soccer games on weekends if we happen not to take our other car (wife drives that) 2017 Audi Q7. That SUV has air suspension and ride and steers better than mine sedan.

a couple of issues I have, looking for your opinion
1. Lack of confidence when going fast when roads aren't straight. - feels like rear isn't "catching up" with the front like car will slide side ways. is that a steering issue? or springs are too soft so there is too muich body roll?
2. Lack of feedback from the road. In the bmw's you can feel every bump on the road through your steering wheel, or that's how I felt. I don't think I get any of that feedback, just a pretty loose steering wheel it seems.

So just the springs? saw a lot of H&R spring change out as I scour the forum. Or change shocks too? do coilovers?
Anyone from St. Louis and can recommend a good shop to do the work? since alignment will be needed after.

I have RW drive since hybrid doen't have 4 Matic. It has the same engine as a regular E350 V6 with an additional battery pack that adds a few more HP, and weight. But overall, think of it as a E350 RWD. It came with a sports pkg, but doesn't feel anywhere sporty.

Thanks!
Old 12-12-2017, 10:02 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,499 Likes on 1,171 Posts
2008 E350 4Matic, 2011 E350 4matic