E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Mixing different types of Synthetic Oil...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-06-2019, 09:04 PM

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
2015 E400
Mixing different types of Synthetic Oil...

Between our various BMW, Mercedes, Corvettes, Audi & Jaguar vehicles in our family, we all use Mobil 1, Castrol, & Pennzoil synthetic oil 5 quart jugs of various viscosity of 0w20 to 5w30.

Since we don't always use the full 10 quarts of the 2 Five quarts, there's always a few quarts left over this 5 quart jugs.

So question is: Is it OK to mix between:

- different brands of synthetic oil (Mobil 1 + Castrol, etc...)
- different viscosity (0w20 + 5w20, or 5w20 + 5w30, etc...)
- different shelf life/age (been sittin' on garage shelf for 1 yr + 2+ yrs...)

Thoughts...?
Thanks,

Old 05-07-2019, 01:49 AM

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
E350
I'm not a expert but I think you should ask here: https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Here are my opinion on your questions
- different brands of synthetic oil (Mobil 1 + Castrol, etc...) It's fine as long as they meet the spec of your car that your trying to fill.
- different viscosity (0w20 + 5w20, or 5w20 + 5w30, etc...) This will change the viscosity of the oil depend upon the mixture. ie. 5 quarts of 0w20 + 4 quarts of 5w20 will get you something between the 2 mixture viscosity....2w20? As long as it's close enough to what's recommend by manufacture, your fine.
- different shelf life/age (been sittin' on garage shelf for 1 yr + 2+ yrs...) For sure not the 2+ years left over oil as once you open the seal, it get oxidized. It degrade the quality of oil(chemical break down) and increase viscosity. 1+ years, probably not. 0-0.5 years opened, you could use it imho.

You can use oil as long as it sealed and hasn't past the expiration date and store in a cool dry location without any water or dirt that has gotten into the bottles.
Old 05-07-2019, 08:00 AM

Received 35 Likes on 27 Posts