E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Ham radio power from battery

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-11-2020, 11:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E550
Ham radio power from battery

I am a ham radio operator. Recently purchased a 2013 e550 cabriolet. Want to install a radio in the car, but it has a fairly high power requirements. (13amps)

Need to get power supply wires directly from battery into the cockpit. Don’t think I can tap a fuse for this.

Has anybody ever done this before? I don’t see any obvious way to run power cables from battery through firewall to cockpit.
Old 11-11-2020, 02:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E550
I think I may have found a solution.

Since I need to run wiring from the trunk up to the cockpit for the antenna anyway, I can tap into an unused circuit from the rear fuse box.

There is a 20 amp unused circuit normally used for trailer hitch purposes. I need to do a little more checking (to ensure I don’t burn the car down) but this may be my solution.

Thoughts/warnings?

Ralph KN6KTI
Old 11-12-2020, 08:11 PM

Received 371 Likes on 279 Posts
2013 SL550 BiTurbo
Originally Posted by RalphLong
I think I may have found a solution.

Since I need to run wiring from the trunk up to the cockpit for the antenna anyway, I can tap into an unused circuit from the rear fuse box.

There is a 20 amp unused circuit normally used for trailer hitch purposes. I need to do a little more checking (to ensure I don’t burn the car down) but this may be my solution.

Thoughts/warnings?

Ralph KN6KTI
Sounds like a solid plan, Ralph. Just make sure you use the proper size wire and keep it away from other wires and you should be good.