E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Need advice: Looking to Buy a 2011 E300.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-06-2021, 01:36 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
E300
Need advice: Looking to Buy a 2011 E300.

I have the opportunity to buy a 2011 Mercedes Benz E300 (gas engine) for a good price ($5,000 USD approximately). However, having never owned a Mercedes, I'm concerned about potential reliability issues.

I'm a student with a job who realistically shouldn't even be considering looking into buying this car. However, the part of me that loves cars is still assessing the risk.

I'm fully aware that any European vehicle will be considerably more expensive to fix and maintain than a Japanese economy car. However, there's not a lot of info on the E300 - specifically- out there.

My concerns with the physical vehicle I'm looking at, stem from the following:

-The floor on passengers side ends up being soaked after a night of rain. The sunroof doesn't appear to be leaking or open. Some quick online research suggests it might be the sunroof drains.

-The display is throwing warnings for open hood, check engine oil level at next refuel, and CEL.

-While driving it in the past, when coming to stop, the car acted like it wanted to shut down. Since then, they replaced both the standard and auxiliary batteries, as per the recommendation of a local (non-specilized) mechanic.

-The exterior has several dings and scratches, including the wheels. It's been sitting in the sun without being driven for a couple of years now and the paint on the right is peeling. I'm guessing, it might have been in a minor accident, and they didn't do a good job of painting it, which is why the paint isn't holding off very well. Although the battery has been replaced about a year ago, it hasn't been driven, and won't hold a charge. It will therefore need a new battery. Could it be the alternator/generator?

-Several owners on the title, with no service records.