E-Class (W213) 2016 - 2023

2018 Drive Pilot and Tesla Autopilot compared

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-18-2018, 08:04 PM

Received 53 Likes on 43 Posts
2018 E400S
Exclamation 2018 Drive Pilot and Tesla Autopilot compared

A friend of mine recently got a Tesla model 3 with enhanced autopilot. This weekend I drove the model 3, and he drove my 6 month old E400S back to back over the same stretch of highway, with similar traffic conditions. Obviously the build quality and appointments of the E400S were far nicer than the model 3, but apart from lack of a HUD and air suspension, the model 3 was otherwise far superior. My main focus was comparing the two autonomous driving systems, but the model 3 (which had dual motors for AWD, but not the performance package) had much better acceleration.

I've been using drive pilot for 6 months and am quite used to its quirks:

Poor lane keeping ability, the car wanders like a slamom skier within its lane.

Limited ability to corner in tight turns, car will run off road without driver intervention.

Terrifying emergency breaking is applied when approaching cars at a stop light because drive pilot does not sense stationary cars ahead unless its previously been following them.

When following cars in stop and go traffic, braking is applied too abruptly compared to normal slowing when driven manually.

No feedback about surrounding traffic and lane detection, other than an indication of when a car ahead is detected, and its distance ahead.

Automatic speed sign recognition is unreliable, e.g. in school zones car slows to 15 mph even though the limit only applies during school hours.

Inability to detect merging traffic pulling into a lane ahead of you: the E400 only detects other vehicles when they are immediately in front, with no forward lateral detection.