E-Class (W213) 2016 - 2023
View Poll Results: Is it possible?
Yes
25.00%
No
75.00%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Using the internet, without paying for vodaphone?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-09-2020, 05:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
e220d AMG line w213
Using the internet, without paying for vodaphone?

Hi, I’m a taxi driver in the UK, currently it’s super quiet so we are spending a lot of time sitting around not doing a lot.
I was hoping to get the internet working in my car to possibly watch videos etc while waiting between jobs (it’s really that quiet).

when I click on the internet it says I need to get a data plan, (I know this is different in America), the way to view the data plans is to connect to the cars WiFi and then it brings up the options to buy, yet these are really expensive and honestly not worth £100.

i have seen people have there internet working while using there phone as a hotspot, can any body confirm if this is possible?, and if so how I would go about doing it? Thanks

Last edited by Daniel Knight; 06-09-2020 at 06:00 AM. Reason: Adding photo
Old 06-09-2020, 11:56 AM

Received 66 Likes on 50 Posts
W213 220d from 2016
You have to subscribe with the company that works with Vodaphone in your country. Sadly there is no other way, if you want to use internet option provided by mercedes.

Theres a few alternatives though. One would be to load them on a usb stick or sd card(will only work if the car is stationary) or you can jailbreak your phone to open options for running youtube/netflix etc via carplay(also while the car is moving)

lastly you can just bring a tablet or phone with your own internet connection and watch on those
Old 06-10-2020, 09:59 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 298 Likes on 226 Posts
E 300 AMG-Line diesel-Hybrid - 2021
I thought this too, but there's a thread here where people explain how they manage it with android (not possible with iPhone)
and in fact it's also explained in the manual