E-Class (W213) 2016 - 2023

Air Body control vs Sport suspension, in sport mode?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-09-2024, 03:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F150... I KNOW..
Air Body control vs Sport suspension, in sport mode?

Hello all,
I'm familiar with the mechanics of air susp vs adjustable dampers, mostly the ability to change ride height, but have some questions if anyone had experienced both, would love some first hand input.

Looking at two almost identical e450 wagons. One has ABC, and the other with a couple more interior perks (Vented seats and HUD, as far as I can see. I'm not sure if they're part of packages that include other things here in Canada)

Questions:
With the wagon, is it just a change to the front struts since the rear is air anyhow? From a reliability perspective, half the compenents are already there no matter what....

I have a small concern about the bottoming out I've read about with the sport suspension, but I'm a sport oriented driver anyhow. (Too bad the C43 wagon is just too small and rough for my 2 hr highway commute)
Does the ABC at the same ride height have the same likelihood to bottom?

Lastly, does anyone know how the firmest rides in sport+ compare performance-wise between air and steel? One firmer or more controlled than the other?

Thank you,

Last edited by MBDanwec; 07-09-2024 at 03:45 PM.
Old 07-09-2024, 04:20 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3,852 Likes on 2,575 Posts
2019 C63CS