G Class (W460, W461, W463) Produced 1980-2018: 290 GD, 290 GDT, 300 GD, 350 GD, 500 GE, G250, G300, G300 DT, G320, G500, G550, G55 AMG, G63 AMG

Good deal?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-08-2009, 03:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 BMW 540i 6-speed; 1997 Porsche 911 cabriolet
Good deal?

I'm very new to the world of M-B. I've been a bmw and porsche owner for sometime. However, I now find myself wanting an SUV. I'm not really a fan of the ever too common x5.

I currently debating between a Cayenne and a G-wagon. I know they are totally different vehicles. Below is a link to a G500 in my area. Can I get everyone's thoughts on this truck? What should I beware of? How is this truck going to compare to a new model?

Thanks
Trey

http://www.malonesauto.com/carinfo.php?stocknum=5311
Old 07-09-2009, 01:21 AM

2013 G 63 AMG
The G500 never had a Bose sound system. These days, like all other Benzes, they have harmon/kardon Logic7 systems. I had a 2002 G500 when I lived in the US, and it was super reliable, but others had problems with theirs. The general consensus is that a 2003 or newer is a better bet, or if the service history is clean on this one then use that fact as a way to negotiate the price down.

As far as what's changed in newer models...well...other than the look, a lot. New engine, gearbox, brakes, electronics, interior, etc. Quite an extensive list, and even more changes are coming in the 2010 model. The good thing is that the 2002 is still quite luxurious and comfortable, very very capable off-road, and if well maintained will easily run for another 10-15 years or more.

It's hard to compare to a Cayenne, they are totally different vehicles. Drive them and see which one you like more.
Old 07-20-2009, 07:41 PM

Yugos only
Thoughts