Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

New member would like input from MB technicians

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-03-2005, 03:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BMW 330ci
Question New member would like input from MB technicians

Hello everyone. Although I do not own a Mercedes ( I actually own a BMW 330, don't hate me ) I have just been recently accepted into the Mercedes-Benz Elite program. Beginning this coming March I will be training to become a certified MB technician.

If I'm not mistaken most sales of higher end cars like Mercedes or BMW are leases. Does this mean that most cars I will end up working on are within being five years old? Is it true that most of the work will be electrical/computer/ or electronics related?

Any advice or input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

If you like you can message on AIM using do1997.
Old 12-03-2005, 04:58 PM

I have been a MB tech for 10 years and my advice to you would be to change your program to a BMW program. I know at our dealership the BMWs are outselling the MBs at a 3 to 1 ratio.
It sucks but, with the slightly lower prices and the free maintenance the MB customers in our are have changed to the BMWs. I hope the MB will do something soon to help compete. Sorry to sound glum but, it is what it is in my area....Dwight
Old 12-03-2005, 05:14 PM

BMW 330ci
Thanks for the input.

Unfortunately I was not accepted into the BMW STEP program (they wouldn't tell me why which I found rather insulting, but whatever).

More than likely I'll get a position in one of three places, California, Florida, or an east coast state. Woman in the employment office showed me the most recent list of opening and that's where about 90% of the openings were. Those are big money areas so hopefully the dealership I work at won't have trouble getting customers.