Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

great maintenance technique

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-29-2002, 05:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
great maintenance technique

hi i need help on how to maintain a mercedes
this is the first time i own a car and i am still a newbie

besides following the FSS service a and b what else do i have to do?
the FSS service only includes oil change, brake fluid and etc...right?

what about engine tune-up?when should i do engine tune up?
and what about the brake pads and stuff?

will the dealer check all my engine, allignement, brake and etc for me when i bring it for FSS service?or do i have to ask them to check all this separately?

i mean do they check the entire car when i bring it for FSS service a and B or do they only check the oil, brake fluid etc..?

any help will be appreciated much
Old 08-29-2002, 06:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2002 c230k
Don't worry. It does not get a 'tune-up' any more the electronics take care of it all. The manual tells all you need to know, give it a good once over. If you notice anything strange just mention it to the service rep when you go for your A or B. If it is an emergency take it in right away, assuming you can still drive it safely.
Old 08-29-2002, 06:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2007 VW GTI
i seriously don't trust waiting until my first service A to get the oil changed, especially because of the break in period. my car is at 5100 miles and i took it in this morning for an unscheduled oil change ($93). even if it does nothing it will give me piece of mind, but i have to believe it's #93 well spent.

after this, i'll just take it in for scheduled maintenance. the break in period is what worried me.

meanwhile, i'll enjoy the SLK230 loaner
Old 08-30-2002, 02:34 PM
Out Of Control!!

K Car