Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

shipping to a different country?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-05-2003, 01:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 SLK350
shipping to a different country?

I have no experiences buying from an out of state dealer, much less shipping a car from the US to another country. However, I was wondering if anyone had any experiences shipping their US spec Mercedes to another country (more specifically, South Korea). I will be going to Korea for the summer (a week up to the whole summer) after school finishes, and was planning on shipping my SL55 there as well. Right now, I have one on order in Houston, and am buying another one in California. The one from California will be the one most likely to be shipped to Korea.

If I am not mistaken, if the car is only going to be there for a week or two (ppl might argue why the hell I would want to ship it to Korea for only a few weeks, but it COULD end up being there for a long time), registration and all the other details wouldnt matter so much right? As far as I know, I think US spec cars are legal in Korea (but then again, not that sure).

So if any one could share their experiences (and recommend certain methods or companies), it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 05-05-2003, 07:50 AM

2001 CLK 320
Export

When I purchased my car in 2/01, I had to sign paperwork indicating I would not export the car for a certain period. I am not certain if this was something from MBUSA or my dealer, but you might want to check to see if either your dealer or MB requires the same.
Old 05-05-2003, 01:53 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The customs duties and taxes due the ROK government will be horrendous. They may exceed to cost of the car. I think you should contact the nearest ROK consulate for the most accurate information about importing a car to their country .