Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

Need purchasing advice for the first car I buy.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-21-2014, 04:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes s350
Need purchasing advice for the first car I buy.

Hey people,

I've been driving for around 3 years now. My current car is a fully loaded 2003 s350 but I've been having problems with it regularly for the past few months and I'm already bored of that car since it was passed on to me. I'm ready to finally purchase the best car that suits my wants with the budget I have.
Here's what I'm looking for in a car in no particular order:

65000$ budget

Great acceleration

Turbocharged/supercharged preferably for high altitude driving ( 1500 meters)

Acceptable fuel consumption

Steering column mounted paddle shifters

AWD grip for bad weather and very slick tarmac

Good handling for spirited driving

4 doors or 2 doors seating 4 adults

A certain degree of luxury since I've been driving an s class for a while

Good to decent ride quality since roads are terrible here with potholes everywhere and uneven road surfaces

That being said, I've done a fair bit of research and a few available (brand new) cars that are to my liking have been the CLA and A 45 AMG. I also like the Grand Cherokee SRT8 but I'm struggling to find a need for it since it is rather large with equally large fuel consumption.

I know there aren't that many cars that fit my well studied criteria but just in case I missed a few good cars that fit my description, I'd like to hear your opinion.

Thanks!
Old 04-22-2014, 04:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 39 Likes on 34 Posts
E 350
How about the new C class ?
Old 04-22-2014, 04:32 PM

Mercedes s350