Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

Wanting to buy a used mercedes 2004 e500

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-28-2023, 01:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NA
Wanting to buy a used mercedes 2004 e500

Hi, I am new to this website and I am not sure if this is the right place to post this. Apologises in advance if this is not and let me know, thank you! I am a PhD student in graduate school and my parents are going to buy me this car as a gift: https://www.briggsnissan.com/viewdet...finance&term=0. I was wondering what the maintenance and the upkeep of the car would be like? I understand that the air suspension might be an issue with this car but at the same time I heard that the engine is built like a tank. So, I am looking for advice what is the maintence cost I can expect per year, how much money should I set aside and what are the major things to look out for? Thank you so much!!
Old 10-28-2023, 02:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 982 Likes on 764 Posts
'99 and '05 E55 AMG
Sheesh, where do I start? Performing the maintenance yourself will save you literally thousands of dollars. Dealer labor approx $185/hr, Indy labor approx $135/hr. Multiply by two to four days labor. Following assumes you do the work.
First: contact BenzNinja on this forum and purchase a STAR/Xentry C4 system with remote support. Approximately $1K but worth every penny and a must to work on your E500.
Be advised I am one who replaces parts before they break so the following reflects my philosophy. I hate calling flatbed or tow trucks. Has something to do with having my vehicle stuck seven miles out in the desert near NAWC Ridgecrest (Trona Pinnacles)...that was an apprehensive wolf trot to the nearest highway in the middle of summer heat.
M113 engine and 722.6 transmission are some of the best ever manufactured.