GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

GL 550 purchase . Advice needed.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-28-2015, 03:27 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
BMW X5 4.8is
GL 550 purchase . Advice needed.

Hey guys, I'm new to Mercedes. I've owned a lot of BMW's over the years, currently driving an 06 4.8is X5.

Family is growing and we need to get a bigger vehicle. My wife and I are thinking of getting a GL 550 just because it looks better than most of the other 7 seaters out there in our price range.

I'm asking for advice. I need to know what to look for in these models before purchasing one.
Our budget is under 40k.

So far we've been able to find 2010,2011 models around $36.000 with 60-70k miles.

Is 2012 a better year for these cars?

How about warranty? Should I look into purchasing that as well?

Is it possible to buy the warranty through Mercedes ? I'd hate dealing with a third party warranty.

That's about it for now. Thanks!
Old 12-28-2015, 07:09 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
2012 GL450, 2013 Lexus GS350 F-Sport
They may look nicer but the tires are very expensive. The 21 inch AMG wheel size makes the tires harder to find.
Old 12-28-2015, 07:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
BMW X5 4.8is
Originally Posted by islandbeef
They may look nicer but the tires are very expensive. The 21 inch AMG wheel size makes the tires harder to find.
I understand that, but tires on my x5 weren't cheap either (315/40/20) were 400-500$ a piece so I'm kinda used to it. I'm test driving one right now, I'm impressed.
Old 12-28-2015, 11:55 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2016 E63 AMG S SEDAN, 2010 E550 SEDAN
Originally Posted by Anemone
Hey guys, I'm new to Mercedes. I've owned a lot of BMW's over the years, currently driving an 06 4.8is X5.

Family is growing and we need to get a bigger vehicle. My wife and I are thinking of getting a GL 550 just because it looks better than most of the other 7 seaters out there in our price range.