GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

GL 350 Timing Chain Replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-20-2017, 02:36 PM

Received 83 Likes on 55 Posts
2012 GL 350
GL 350 Timing Chain Replacement

So at 54,600 miles I started getting a terrible rattle at startup. Checked into it and appears that some of these OM642 engines develop stretched timing chains. I'm a pretty good mechanic, don't really have time for this sort of thing because I'm busy, but we have a third car, so what the hell. Ordered up the parts and some of the special tools, then dove in.

You have to remove a hell of a lot of stuff to get to this thing. I removed both valve covers because I started to get paranoid about "how do I confirm the timing is correct if I can't see both sets of cams?" Probably went overboard on that, I admit.

That's a lot of parts that have to come off.

Anyway, the old chain was definitely badly stretched, so it's not a wasted effort. It's off and headed to the scrap heap.

Headed to the scrap heap to be recycled.

So now I'm at the point where I have the new chain in, and I go to use the tool that I bought which is supposed to be an exact copy of the MB Factory tool, to install the last link in the chain. There are three steps to this process (I'll do an entire write up once I'm finished and confirmed that I did it correctly ) First, you install the center link and hold it in place with a small fixture that looks like a chain link with pins. Then you insert the new link pins and use a tool to press that center link through the pins on the new link. Second you press on the end link, and last, you crimp ("rivet" in MB speak) the pins to keep the end link from falling off.