What are these oil leak spots called?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2021, 11:58 PM
mbp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mb
What are these oil leak spots called?

I'm new to MB world. New to the car maintenance/fixing world actually. Just got the 10 years old 2011 GL 350 from the previous owner who doesn't know anything about the car. Same as me. So, no doubt the the car is in the rough shape. As I tried to inspect it, I saw oil grime all over the front of the engine and drip to the ground near the front left. Especially around the belt behind the fan that has puddle of oil sit on the top of oil pan. The alternator is also covered with oil. I tried to spot the leaks and found several spots that look like where the oil is seeping from but don't know what those parts are called. So, it's tough to seek for further info. I've marked the spots with red circle (picture attached).

Please advise. I want to start with knowing the parts, so I can identify the leak spots and be able to find more information on how to get it fixed. Also, any suggestion on how to diagnose the issue properly. Don't want to take the car to a mechanic without knowing anything.

Old 03-03-2021, 08:42 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 275 Likes on 241 Posts
'08 GL 320 CDI
Welcome aboard!

Since it's been leaking for so long, it can be difficult to locate the actual leaking points. Especially with windage and possibly even the belt slinging oil. The first thing I would recommend is to THOROUGHLY clean the entire area really well. Once it's clean, monitor it closely and you'll have a much better chance at locating the actual leaking point. Get some good degreaser, a whole bunch of cans of Brakleen and a bag of rags (use the non-chlorinated stuff to keep you from choking).
Old 03-03-2021, 10:26 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 584 Likes on 493 Posts
Now just one GL450 with EORP.