GLC Class (X253) Produced 2016-2022

On the fence

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-18-2019, 09:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Glc 300
On the fence

Hello all, I am new to this thread and happy I found it! Need some help, I am on the fence about purchasing a used MB GLC 300. I am CONSTANTLY being warned against MB. Being told maintenance is a PIA and extremely expensive. Can anyone advise me on this? Please give me some pros and cons. Also considering a private seller vs dealer as to avoid licensing fees? Help!!! TIA
Old 02-19-2019, 10:39 AM

Received 133 Likes on 100 Posts
2023 EQB300
You'll get a ton of opinions here. I would personally buy a CPO from dealer and negotiate for maintenance and warranty. Service on all of these German cars is expensive-- I've owned Audi, MB and BMW. Basically if you want to drive one of these vehicles, understand that the ultimate cost of the vehicle is not just what you pay for it but what it will cost you to operate. Having owned both Audi and BMW, I chose to lease my GLC300 so that I could have warranty and maintenance (optional but worthwhile cost, particularly because you can negotiate price) and drive it relatively expense free for 3 years. Then start all over with another vehicle. I suspect that the same could be said for many other vehicles in a similar price range-- Range Rover, Jaguar, Volvo, etc. If you do purchase from private seller, have the car checked by MB dealer or trusted indie shop. And buy a warranty.
Old 02-19-2019, 12:00 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2019 GLC 300 4-Matic
I agree with nsoltz 100%. I only lease my vehicles because like BMW here in Canada they do come with free maintenance for 4-years or you can get the pre-paid package with a steep discount if you can negotiate. Leasing for 3-4 years is ideal as long as you don't drive more than the KM allowance for the car's warranty (usually 80,000km/4 years).