GLC63s, GLC63, GLC43 AMG SUV and Coupe (X253, C253) 2015 - Present

GLC63 Operating and Tire Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-29-2018, 01:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BMW 335 Xi
GLC63 Operating and Tire Questions

Looking for a new vehicle which is fast, not too big, and is usable all year around. Test-drove a GLC63 yesterday, and was generally favorably impressed, but would welcome some input from owners or from those who otherwise are familiar with the vehicle.

1. Accelerating briskly, but not fully flat-out, into a sharp left-hand turn on cold tires resulted in a sudden and complete but brief loss of power. I wonder if that might represent normal operation of the 63's traction and/or stability control? It was unnerving, but I have no prior experience with MB vehicles and cannot tell whether that was typical behavior under such circumstances, or represents a design or sample defect of some kind.
2. Transmission shifts in auto mode were definitely perceptible, whether in Comfort or Sport, and seemed more jerky than those in my current ride, a BMW 335Xi. Have others noticed this?
3. I live in Northern Virginia, where Winter temps drop below the limits recommended for summer tires. It does not appear that high-performance all-season tires are available in sizes to fit the 63 - what do you owners who live in similar or worse climates intend to do about tires when the temperatures drop? "Ordinary" (i.e., not high performance) all-season tires are available, but I wonder how much performance will be lost with that kind of tire - enough to negate the performance-related reasons to buy a AMG in the first place?

Looking forward to learning more about the 63 here!

Last edited by GmanJef; 05-29-2018 at 02:04 PM.
Old 05-29-2018, 02:33 PM
PREMIUM SPONSOR

Received 82 Likes on 52 Posts
Hi Gman! Welcome to the forum.