Kill Stories Discuss your exciting high speed excursions here!

ML500 beats a WRX

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-08-2005, 05:37 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile ML500 beats a WRX

Sorry for the double post (have posted this on ML forum already) but I have just found this "kills" section so I thought I would post it here too.

The other day I was instructing (I am a rally driving instructor) for the local Impreza WRX club driver training day (I still have 2 WRXs and used to be the club vice president). At lunch time it was time for a few of the instructors to have a go at head to head competition on a motorkhana course reuiring both high speeds and low speed moanouverability. I ended up having to run against a modified WRX being driven by one of the top club motorkhana competitors, in fact he is the motorkhana champion for 2004.

Hmmmm. I'll have a hard time here I thought!

Launched the car hard and kept my eyes glued to my side of the course so as not to try to keep up with the guy next to me.

It is not easy doing hand brake turns in an ML but I am certainly glad I have now perfected the; "right hand on e-brake release lever, left hand steering the car, left foot on e-brake pedal and right foot controling the throttle as I get the nose to pivot" system of driving!

To my great surprise, as I pulled up to an ABS assisted stop in the final garage, looked to my right, only to see that I had won, by at least a second, over a WRX.

Apparently, according to the crowd that is, the inside rear wheel would lift about 6 inches off the concrete while using the e-brake to spin the car. Quite spectacular from the outside apparently but the car felt solid and stable on the inside, even if the ESP was protesting madly.

Unfortunately everyone was too busy watching to get any video of the run.

Can't wait to try it agin if I end up getting a Kleemman upgrade.